This forum is now just an archive. Use the new Q&A website
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:32 am

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Migrate data 5.0 to 6.0 rc1
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 1:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 1:33 am
Posts: 1
Hello all

I have a question about migrating data from 5.0.14 to 6.0 rc1. My company is evaluating the latest version and we want to migrate our data from our 5.0 server to our 6.0 test server.

Unfortunately I have been unable to find much, if any information how that would be done at this time. What I have found relates to version 5 and older. I have tried what was suggested with no success.

If any one has any suggestions or links to information that could help, they would be much appreciated.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Migrate data 5.0 to 6.0 rc1
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 1:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 9:56 am
Posts: 3114
Location: Lotharingie
same question :
topic17784.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Migrate data 5.0 to 6.0 rc1
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 9:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:55 am
Posts: 10
Location: Nigeria, Africa
i suggect you hold on,

i have been running 6.0RC1 and the data structure had changed from 5.XX (then again its a net version its bound to change right?) well i downloaded RC2 on January 1 and set it up and GUESS WHAT? the data structure has changed AGAIN!!!

in my findings with RC2 on windows,
1) you cannot restore or backup the database using any of the openerp client tools. backup MUST be done from PGadmin.
2) data that operates smoothly in RC1 will most likely not run in RC2 or at least my tests have been unsuccessful.

since RC2 is out i suggest going straight for RC2. if you are running linux, pls verify that you can backup and restore your database before going live

best of luck


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Migrate data 5.0 to 6.0 rc1
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 12:26 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Annecy & Toulon,France
hello
ibcs_nick wrote:
If any one has any suggestions or links to information that could help, they would be much appreciated.

Please dig in this forum, this was discussed a few months ago. openerp-sa is proposing it as a service under drastic conditions and if subscribed before V6 is out (next week).
Alternative works were mentioned. I remember writing a summary a few weeks ago.
regards

_________________
SISalp's free openerp hosting http://sisalp.fr/openerp-serveur-gratuit.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Migrate data 5.0 to 6.0 rc1
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 12:26 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Annecy & Toulon,France
here it is
topic18112.html

_________________
SISalp's free openerp hosting http://sisalp.fr/openerp-serveur-gratuit.html


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP