This forum is now just an archive. Use the new Q&A website
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:18 pm

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: New modules in Data Migration module group
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 1:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:31 pm
Posts: 457
Hi,
would like to inform that we have created 2 new modules related to data migration.

Now there are three modules in this group:
1. Module "server_migration" - main functionality;
2. Module "server_migration_config_data" - ready module mappings if you want to move data migration mappings created in one database to another. This is helpful if you want to reuse your work on several databases. For example, you may want to reuse migration mappings for the common modules such as Partners and several other base models.
3. Module "server_migration_demo_data" - holds demo data in order to better understand how to create model mappings. Model mappings in this module - Partners, Partner Address, Partner Categories, Banks, Users Tasks, Task Works, Projects.

All of them are available for download as zip'ed modules from our web-page as well as source and modules from launchpad.

https://launchpad.net/datamig

I hope now it would be easier to understand how to create model mappings for data migration.

For reference there is brief step-by-step guide how migration could be performed.
http://kndati.lv/index.php/en/openerp/o ... -migration

Best regards,
Kaspars
-----------------------
http://kndati.lv


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 5
I have tried these modules, but I have a small problem. I can conact with old server, but I cannot create mapping for data models. I can not see any models in old server. Can you please tell me, what should I do? I am using Openerp 5.02 and I want to import data from Openerp 4.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:31 pm
Posts: 457
Hi,
please take a look at this:
http://kndati.lv/index.php/en/openerp/o ... -migration

There is no feature to see the models on old server directly. You can run "Administration/Server Migration/Compare New and Old server's modules" wizard to see the automated analysis of the models.

As you can see that we have released two additional modules, which may provide good example for you.

P.S. There is an option to purchase almost any standard module mappings ready to use (may need slight modifications for your specific needs) from us at modest price. Please contact us for price quote.

Kaspars
------------------
http://kndati.lv


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 5
Fine, I can now map the models. Now I want to import all Partners and Contacts. Can you please tell me which models should I map and import. I don't want to import rest of the data.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:31 pm
Posts: 457
I am afraid that I can not tell what models exactly should be mapped, and I suppose no one would, because OpenERP is highly customizable system. You may have modules installed, which add required fields in your res.partners model.

Kaspars
----------------------------
http://kndati.lv


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: problems in migrating Partners (for testing)
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:51 am
Posts: 5
Hi,
I'm trying your server_migration module, but it seems not work correctly. In my simple test, my goal is to migrate all the partners in original database to newly created database.
My steps are:
1. Create a new database (A) with demonstration data, using Minimal Profile. This one will act as the original database. (A) contains 21 partners.
2. Create a new, blank database (without demonstration data) (B), using Miniml Profile too (to avoid differences in module set). (B) contains 1 partner.
3. Chose Partner in Model Mapping screen, then Create a Migration Scheduler with this mapping. The result for migrating Partners data from (A) to (B) I got is: (B) contains 24 partners. There some arbitrarily duplicated rows.
4. To confirm, I repeated step 2 again, creating another new, blank database (C). Then repeated step 3 with (C). The result I got: (C) contains 34 partners. Don't know why there're many duplicated rows.
Would you please explain whether I made mistakes in some steps?

Thanks and regards,
P/S: btw, the idea of this module is very nice. Thanks for your good work!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:51 am
Posts: 5
Hi,
To whom it may concern,
You can follow that thread: http://kndati.lv/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=38
about the problem I mentioned on the previous post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data Migration modules: V4 -> V6
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 12:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 39
Hi Kaspars,

I successfully installed the Data Migration modules in V6, the only minor problem where the menuitems that needed to be update to V6

Is there some documentation for the module? Especially how to use:
- field value constructor
- actions
- record filter
Some basic examples would be really helpful

I got the Partner - addresses - categories import working but still need to do some manual work after the import that I probably can automate with the above items if I know how to use them.

I noticed that the Partner Title field of v4 is a selection while in v6 this is a many2one, because of this v4 returns only the Title name without id so no mapping is done and the import stops.

Floris


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New modules in Data Migration module group
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 2:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 39
I looked at the code and record filter is easy to use, field value constructor is going to take some more time to figure out but with some brakepoint and inspecting the vars should be no problem.

Then there is still the actions, maybe you can give a bit of information what/how they are used?

I was also looking at Terminatooor for the migration job but this module looks al lot better for migrations. Nice Job

Floris


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New modules in Data Migration module group
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 5:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 39
When trying to connect to V6 from V6 I get the following error message when running the Remote Server Config wizard.


ERROR:web-services:[01]: Exception in call: Traceback (most recent call last):
ERROR:web-services:[02]: File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/openerp-server/wizard/__init__.py", line 153, in execute_cr
ERROR:web-services:[03]: return self.execute_cr(cr, uid, data, next_state, context)
ERROR:web-services:[04]: File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/openerp-server/wizard/__init__.py", line 159, in execute_cr
ERROR:web-services:[05]: self.abortResponse(2, e.name, 'warning', e.value)
ERROR:web-services:[06]: File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/openerp-server/netsvc.py", line 70, in abortResponse
ERROR:web-services:[07]: raise Exception("%s -- %s\n\n%s"%(origin, description, details))
ERROR:web-services:[08]: Exception: warning -- ValidateError
ERROR:web-services:[09]:
ERROR:web-services:[10]: The value "integer_big" for the field "ttype" is not in the selection


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New modules in Data Migration module group
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 12:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 1:03 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Genoa
Hello,

we made some modification to server_migration in order to make it compatible with OpenERP v6.

https://code.launchpad.net/~domsense/datamig/datamig-6

We also add 'Load Configuration' functionality that allows to load working preconfigured import models for few main modules. The loaded configuration depends on which module you install. At the moment, we built 3 configuration modules (for V5 to V6 migration):

    server_migration_5_to_6_config_base
    server_migration_5_to_6_config_product
    server_migration_5_to_6_config_accounting

After installing the module you need, you have to 'Connect to the old server' and 'Load Configuration'. Then, the migration can start.

By the way, everything is still under development.

Regards

_________________
Lorenzo Battistini
http://planet.domsense.com/en/author/elbati/
http://www.agilebg.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New modules in Data Migration module group
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 5:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Switzerland
Hello,

I've done today a checkout of datamig-6 and added the modules to a new OpenERP v6.0.2 server. I've also created a new database one that server, with the same base modules than the actual database on the old server. The old server is running OpenERP server v 5.0.15.

However, when I try "connect to the old server", after entering all information (username, password, DB name and old server IP), I get a "Connection Error!" message.

The old server is on the same subnet than the new one and is reacheable via OpenERP client using the same IP and credentials. I've tried on port 8069 and 8070, with or without loading meta-data.

Would you have any idea where this problem could come from, or suggest a way to debug this situation ?

Thank you very much for your work !

Regards,

Miguel.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New modules in Data Migration module group
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 1:03 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Genoa
mcordas wrote:
Would you have any idea where this problem could come from, or suggest a way to debug this situation ?

It depends on your network :wink:

_________________
Lorenzo Battistini
http://planet.domsense.com/en/author/elbati/
http://www.agilebg.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New modules in Data Migration module group
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 5:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:04 pm
Posts: 11
Same problem here.

I sniffed data sent to server v5 and the data sent by GTK Client v5 and data sent by datamig-6 were diferent.

I only installed server_migration module, Is it enough?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New modules in Data Migration module group
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 7:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 1:03 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Genoa
javivf wrote:
I only installed server_migration module, Is it enough?

If you want to manually configure fields mapping, it is enough.
Otherwise, you can try the configuration modules: server_migration_5_to_6_config_* at http://bazaar.launchpad.net/~domsense/d ... ig-6/files

_________________
Lorenzo Battistini
http://planet.domsense.com/en/author/elbati/
http://www.agilebg.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP